MediaMagazine Production Competition 2017

The MediaMag Production Competition Shortlist is here!

From the Judges

We're delighted to announce the shortlist of entries for the 2017 MediaMag Production Competition.

Once again, we were overwhelmed with entries, from an ever-expanding range of schools and colleges. Many thanks to all of you (and of course your teachers) for sending us your work. As technologies become increasingly sophisticated year on year, so does your brilliant work – we have had some tough decisions to make. If your production is not listed here, don't be downhearted – the standard of work has been outstanding, and every single production has demonstrated your hard work, skill and inspiration. And for those whose work has been shortlisted, huge congratulations – we will be in touch with you shortly by email to invite you to join us on 5th July at BFI Southbank for the Awards screening. 

Music Videos

  • Sumayya Bilqis, Zeinab Begum, Sajia Hussain and Maryam Dipika, Mulberry School for 'Halsey – Gasoline'
  • Louis Ryan, Akeley Wood School for 'Why Do You Only Call Me'     
  • Oliver Loom, Nathan Henton, Joe Kiff and Harry Hazell, Great Baddow School for 'Avenue'                        
  • Eleanor Lynch, Prudence Carter-Phillips and Ella Budgett, The Latymer School for 'Best Be Believin’'
  • Ella Lewis, Saskia Tarn and Amr Nabeel, Hurtwood House School for 'Are You That Somebody?'
  • Evelyn Wandernoth, Nanci Kelham and Chris Himathongkom, Hurtwood House School for 'Beataphone'
  • Freddy Bartle-Jones, St John The Baptist School for 'Fast Car'
  • Luca Chapman, Michael Dreelan, The Windsor Boys School for 'Love Runs Out'            
  • Laurie Ellis, Steven Hance, Josh Trood and Luke Dreelan, The Windsor Boys School for 'Busy'


  •  Joseph Wright, Matt Conroy and Jake Gooding, Hampton College for 'Buried'
  • Kitty Eaton-Kent, Kirsty Radcliff and Eve Flude, Finham Park School for 'Phoenix'
  • Ali Hassan and Darren Harkin, Whitefield School for 'Paralysis'                     
  • Daisy Gray, Laura Partridge, Phillip Raskin and Sofia Kovvaleva, Hurtwood House School for 'White Shard'   
  • Oriana Pooles, Hale Ho and Harry Gale, Hurtwood House School for 'Fresh Fallen Snow'      
  • Destinie Girigari, Fiona Anokye, Leslie Mensah and Ruby Dixon, Graveney School for 'Roll With The Punches'


  • Ryan Banks, Caitlyn Feehely, Beth Daley and Niamh Ryan, St John The Baptist School for 'Day 206'
  • Lucy Randall, Maidstone Grammar School for 'The Unknowns'
  • Ryan Ng, Royal Russell School for 'Truth'
  • Alissia Genco-Russo, Sara Cipullo, Lauren Hanson and Annalisa Piazza, St John The Baptist School for 'C4 Trailer Campaigns'

Short Films

  • Jacob Crow, Matthew Ingham, Richard Jones and Luke Hetherington, Queen Elizabeth School, Darlington for 'Out of Depth'
  • Adriano Sole, Dan Norman, James Worthington and Joe De Piano, St John the Baptist School for 'Haunting'
  • Jake Pitcher, Bradfield College for 'Dear Diary'
  • Jess Durand, St Mary’s School for Girls, Gerard’s Cross for 'Do You Dream'
  • Louanne Honey, Long Road Sixth Form College for 'Mirage'


  • Ivy Alice Watts, Elliott Hudson College for 'Feminism?'
  • Jake Flack and Will Smith, Long Road Sixth Form College for 'Nest'