MediaMagazine Production Competition 2018 – The Shortlist!

Judges' Comments

At long last – and with many apologies for keeping you on tenterhooks – here is our shortlist of videos for the MediaMag Production Competition 2018. Many thanks for all your submissions – it has been a pleasure and a privilege to view them all.

Even if your work or your school isn’t represented on our shortlist, many congratulations to you all. In particular we’d like to highly recommend the very impressive work from King Edward School, Valley Park School, Nottingham Girls Academy, and Cheadle Hulme High School. Southend High School for Girls submitted some excellent documentaries, and the animations from the Studio School, Liverpool were delightful. 

We're really looking forward to seeing our shortlisted videos onscreen at BFI  South Bank on 2nd July from 1.30pm, and meeting the producers in person. All the students involved will be personally invited to attend the screening and a networking reception, with their teachers and families.  If your work has not been shortlisted but you would like to attend, there will be a limited number of seats available – contact Jenny by Monday 25th June to arrange this.

Music Videos

  • Rebecca Folkard, Lewis Bell, Chorlène Biron-Monnier and Jordan Kemp from Lingfield College for 'White Noise'       
  • Lucas Wilson from Millfield School for 'Buzzcut Season'
  • Isabella Browse from Southend High School for 'I’m Not Sorry'
  • Ray Baker Aisha Farah and Sayo Ajoje from The Latymer School for 'On My Mind'
  • Sean Canning, Antonia-Kate Goddard, Daisy Jelley and Emmy Pollard from Hurtwood House for 'Dancing Song'
  • Rebecca Sewell from Berkhamsted School  for 'Always'
  • Jack Edmondon, Noa Craig, Emilio Francischelli from The Latymer School for 'Sweet Dreams'
  • Sebastian Reca, Jonny Smith, Tim Baker from JFS for 'Nightcaller'
  •  Isaac Skirton from Ringwood School for 'Legohouse'
  • Destinie Girigarie, Fiona Anokye, Leslie Mensah and Ruby Dixon from Graveney School for 'You are the Solution'

Openings and Trailers

  • Charlie Exley from Millfield School for 'Square Thoughts'                                         
  • Kitty Eaton-Kent from Finham Park School for 'Unhooked'        
  • Harvey Graham from Ringwood School for 'Undertaker'                     
  • Jose Velasco, Ava Portia Finlay and Shea Salvi from Hurtwood House for 'King 7'      
  • Rayane Benkirane, Maddie Holt, Talya Kishon, Hannah Murphy from Hurtwood House for 'Captured'
  • Martin Blunt from New College for 'The Spontaneous Life of James Brooks'
  • Laura Dutton from Chosen Hill for 'Legends trailer' 
  • Shimran Valand, Ravi Ghelani from Beauchamp College for 'Incognito trailer'


  • Pooja Saini, Amy Chandler and Steven White from Churchmead School for 'Addiction'
  • Fleur Feeney from Southend High for 'The Gender Journey'
  • Molly Thomas and Thurshan Thormasingam from St John The Baptist for 'A Child in Time'
  • James Copley from Churchmead for 'Sleep Foundation Campaign'

Short Films

  • Kishan Katira and Ben Squillaci from St John the Baptist for 'Deadline'
  • Lili Vicens St John the Baptist for 'Everything'
  • Azra Hinton and Jack Williams from St Dunstans for 'The Freeze'
  • Neil Thomson from Hills Road for 'In the TV'