Cover image for The Carnegie Medal Award Shortlist 2021 – Resources (Download) [EMC-Free]

The Carnegie Medal Award Shortlist 2021 – Resources (Download) [EMC-Free]



Free downloadable resources for all eight novels shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal Award 2021.

  • The Girl Who Became a Tree by Joseph Coelho
  • The Girl Who Speaks Bear by Sophie Anderson
  • Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo
  • Run, Rebel by Manjeet Mann
  • On Midnight Beach by Mari-Louise Fitzpatrick
  • Echo Mountain by Lauren Wolk
  • Look Both Ways by Jason Reynolds
  • The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys

Each PDF resource includes:

  • Before, during and after reading activities
  • EMC's literary analysis cards

How to get this free downloadable PDF resource

  • Sign in to your main account (or register a school account):
  • Add the publication to your basket.
  • Check out.
  • Go right the way through the checkout process. (The publication is free but you need to check out, including filling in your name and address.)
  • As soon as you have placed your order, your download publication will be available to download in your account.
  • Before you sign out or leave the website, click 'My Account' (top right).
  • Click the link which says: View your purchased downloads, and re-download them.
  • Click on the PDF icon next to the publication you want to download.
  • The publication will download to wherever downloads normally go on your computer (often your desktop or a Downloads folder).

If you want to download the publication at a later point, sign in to the main account used to buy the download, then follow the instructions above.

Click here to download a guide on accessing downloadable publications from your account.

Viewing and using this print-only PDF

To use this PDF you need Acrobat Reader 7 or above. You can download this free program here.

Comment on this publication

Need help downloading or using an EMC download publication? Check our FAQs or email

Publication categories